Rosie’s Tunes of 2011

Multi-coloured hearts - Rosiemrogers on Flickr

I know, I know. Every blogging Tom Dick and Harry posts their ‘top tunes/gadgets/films/bullshit of year’ during December, so everyone is vomiting never-ending lists through their eyeballs by Christmas. Well I missed that window, and I have been posting my fave tunes of the year for the last two years (see 2009 and 2010), so I am going to post my 2011 list up anyway. Ner ner, ner ner ner.

My list, as always is in order of discovery and personal poignancy. There are some tunes in the list that weren’t created in 2011, but I discovered and fell in love with them that year and thus made my list. The links below go to act’s soundcloud page or a youtube link, and I have made a Spotify playlist which you should defiantly subscribe too.

(Baby I Don’t Know) What You Want – Jacques Greene

This Much – XXXY

Nights Off – Siriusmo

Holkham Drones – Luke Abbott

Sweetest Kill – Broken Social Scene

Maze – Actress

Natalia’s Song – Zomby

Love/Lust – D/R/U/G/S

Just Gazin’ – Digitalism

Tetra – SebastiAn

Hold On – Sbtrkt

The Carter Barron – Oddisee

Little By Little (Caribou Remix) – Radiohead

Too Insistant (Trentemoller Remix) – The Do

Still Life – The Horrors

I’ve held off from putting on some extra additions; I’ve been a long time fan of Metronomy and this year’s album was outstanding. This year also discovered the genius that is James Holden and all the gems on the Border Community label and M83 put on a fantastic show at the Heaven in December, but that is my top list and I’m sticking to it. Top Tune of them all? By far Nights Off by Siriusmo. Not only have I listened to it at least 50 times in the last year, but I can still remember their set at the Black Atlantic/Modeselektor show back last March as one of the sweatiest meatboxes I have ever had the pleasure of dancing to.

Enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Rosie’s Tunes of 2011

  1. 5 stars purely for the mention of dancing in a “”Sweaty Meat Box” xx

  2. Pingback: Rosie’s Tunes of 2012 «

Leave a Reply

