BBC Blast David Mach interview – My first TV credit!

Unexpected excitement fell in into my email inbox this morning.

Most of my loyal followers and friends will know that I have recently finished a two month placement with BBC Blast, where I worked on their fantastic website. I was lucky enough to get the chance to attend two film shoots, the first as a part of a Sarah Jane adventures Competition, and the second was an interview with one of my favourite artists, British sculptorΒ David Mach.

 

I was asked to help out on the production and research for this series short films for the BBC Blast website and I could not put into words how excited I was. I was first introduced to Mach’s sculptures when I attended a lecture by him and Peter Randall-Page when I was in 6th Form – an event that Mach also referenced in his interview. His work Silver streak was my favourite piece in the 2010 Royal Academy Summer exhibition.

Shoot day came – the final day of my Blast placement – and it didn’t disappoint. Mach had as big a personality as fondly remembered from my youth, and I hope we captured this on film. His studio was as fascinating as he was, with very nook and cranny of his home containining something inspiring.

This series was a broadcast on a BBC Two in the early hours, along with other films about horror writer Charlie Higson and Audrey Leighton who writes the fashion blog Frassy. I received a lovely email from the team reminding me that the films has been broadcast, and I’ve been credited along with my fellow trainee Rajiv as the ‘Production Team”. As my Blast Placement seems almost years ago, I am very surprised, but very very chuffed.

You can view the film below, but don’t forget to go direct to the Blast Website to show your appreciation there.Β  I also have to say big thank-you to Emily Brown who got me involved with the project, and the Producer/Director Rana Yousif for letting me attend the shoot.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Leave a Reply

