BBC Blast, Doctor Who & The Sarah Jane Adventures Games Competition

Officially my BBC Blast placement is over. The last two months have just flown by. It’s very weird, because last week didn’t feel like it was my last. This is because it wasn’t. Not only will I staying on at Blast for an extra two weeks, but I have also scored a new job in the BBC. HAPPY DAYS!!!!!! My new job will be working on an exciting new website that will be very popular in the near future – but that is all I can say for now….

But what exactly have I been getting up to on my placement?

Well there were lots of things I’ve been doing for the Blast website which I expected to be doing. This included updating the homepage regularly, responding to emails, keeping an eye on the site, moderating user content, interacting with the the audience via social media… I even wrote the monthly newsletter that was sent out to thousands of people featuring a self-indulgent picture of myself. All of this has been fantastic experience in being involved on a active working website with the chance to get a little creative. The team were all super lovely too and made me feel right at home straight away.

But what I didn’t expect to be doing was to get some real hands on production experience. From day one I was very excitedly thrown into making video content with my mentor for the first month for a competition in collaboration with Doctor Who and The Sarah Jane Adventures. The brief for 13-19 year-olds is to design a spaceship or create 3 sound effects for an alien, and the winners get the chance to work on an online game for a CBBC site.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

In my second week I went up to Cardiff to go and interview the sound and visual designers for some tips videos. This was nervously my first ever film shoot – but terribly exciting! Can’t wait to go out on my next shoot.

Vodpod videos no longer available. Vodpod videos no longer available.

As you can see the films are pretty packed full of starting points for ideas, they were colourful and a lot of fun to shoot and put together. Hopefully it will inspire lots of people to enter, so please spread the word to anyone aspiring game designing younglings and get on the Blast site!

6 thoughts on “BBC Blast, Doctor Who & The Sarah Jane Adventures Games Competition

  1. I can’t watch the videos right now but I will do. BBC sounds as exciting as one would expect. AWESOME stuff, and awesomely happy you’re enjoying! Congrats on job. What’s your new official title?

  2. Good work Rosie, look like some good projects for teens to get their teeth into too!

  3. Pingback: Saturday Subs students land jobs «

  4. Pingback: BBC Blast David Mach interview – My first TV credit! «

  5. Pingback: Playground Magazine «

Leave a Reply

