Living the London life – The Royal Academy summer show and the Serpentine Pavilion

I have lived in London nearly a week now – and I am loving it. Life is fast paced and always on the go. One has to keep their wits about them, so it’s a good thing that I have been sharpening mine for some time now.

One of things I am most excited about is being able to visit all the museums and galleries that I have told myself to go to over the years. Today I finally succumbed to the charms of the Royal Academy near Piccadilly Circus and the Serpentine Gallery in Hyde Park.

David Mach - Silver Streak

David Mach - Silver Streak

As expected, the Royal Academy’s summer show is a Pandora’s box of visual spectacles. Some you will love, some you will hate, but there is always something for everyone. What I really like about the show is that there are no name tags next to the works, so while there works that you instantly recognise by style, the anonymous others force you to judge the work on its aesthetic merits before you the celebrity status of the artist clouds your view. The fantastic David Mach (pictured) has got a lot of coverage this year, his works are always as big as his personality, using unusual mass-produced materials to show familiar ideas and emblems from popular culture. This 2 metre high CG-esque gorilla was created with coat-hangers and was by far the best work in the show, which runs until 22nd August.

Then we took a little detour over to the Serpentine Gallery showcasing the recent work of Wolfgang Tilmans and the newly opened pavilion designed by Jean Nouvel. Admittedly the blood-red is a harsh contrast against the green (read yellow) grounds of the park, but inside the space was playful and welcoming. Visitors can play ping-pong and chess or simply take confines in the shade. It was a popular destination this weekend with the fabulous weather, the poor cafe staff were run off their feet but still smiling.

P.S:I’ m holding off talk about my BBC traineeship for a little while as I want to find out exactly what I can and can’t say about my work. Wouldn’t want to get in trouble now would I? A post about it will be up soon 🙂

One thought on “Living the London life – The Royal Academy summer show and the Serpentine Pavilion

  1. Pingback: BBC Blast David Mach interview – My first TV credit! «

Leave a Reply

