favourites from 2009…

I had an idea a while back (meaning at least 6 months ago) to make up a compilation at the end of every year consisting solely of the music that you have discovered and and got you through the last 12 months. Each CD would change depending on the life pattern you were going though that year (being in love, busy with work, in a depressive slump etc), but looking back it would be a nice reminder of your changing musical attitudes (I wish I had made one when I was 16 in my ska punk rock era to replay the fond memories). A soundtrack to your life if you will.

So rather than write an essay that has been hanging over me for the last few weeks, I have decided to procrastinate some more hand make mine for 2009. I have made the playlist up on spotify so you can listen to the whole compendium (with some tasteless adverts shoved in there for good measure).  I have tried to put the tracks in order of discovery and personal poignancy rather than trying to make the whole play list correlate together in a musical journey.

rosie’s tunes of 2009 <— click to listen to playlist

Bon Iver – Flume

Passion Pit – I’ve Got Your Number

Empire of the Sun – We Are The People

Midnight Juggernauts – Shadows

Fake Blood – Mars (Herve’s re-edit on playlist)

Cut Copy – Hearts on Fire (Midnight Juggernauts Remix)

Sebastien Tellier – Sexual Sportswear

Moderat – Let Your Love Grow

Fever Ray – If I Had a Heart (Fuck Buttons remix)

Interpol – Untitled

Hint – Re:Percussions

Elliot Smith – Between the Bars

Memory Tapes – Bicycle

Kings of Convenience – The Weight of my Words (Four Tet Remix)

Florence and the Machine – You’ve got the Love (Jamie XX rework)

Florence and the Machine – Drumming Song (Boy 8-Bit remix)

*Please note that I am not a Florence fan regardless of my posting two of her tracks, while I think she has an unusually spectatular voice, I am a bigger fan of the producers of the remixes, for reasons you will soon discover.

Spotify always manages to annoy me, as some of my top tunes do not appear on spotify at all, hence why the following tunes should be on this list too, but fail to appear. But there is always you tube.

Fink – Biscuits

Booka Shade – Darko

Midlake – Ruscoe (Beyond the Wizards Sleeve Re-edit)

Clark – Growls Garden

The number one of the year? This gem that I was lucky enough to hear live at Glade. According to My media player I have listened to this tune 38 times in the last 6 months. I can defiantly say it is at least three times that figure.

2 thoughts on “favourites from 2009…

  1. Pingback: Rosie’s Tunes of 2010 «

  2. Pingback: Rosie’s Tunes of 2012 «

Leave a Reply

